As someone who has reviewed Stephen King books on this site before and plans on reading more of his books this year, it shouldn’t come as a surprise to you, dear follower, that I enjoy being somewhat creeped out.

This hasn’t translated into my playing terrifying video games (though I enjoy watching others do so!  I think I might die if I played them!) or watching many scary movies.  Nope.  In addition to Stephen King and such literature, I have semi-recently found myself enjoying creepypastas.

According to the Wiki, the name “creepypasta” comes from the Internet slang term “copypasta”, which means a chunk of text that gets copied and pasted all over different sites on the Internet.
Creepypastas are, essentially, Internet horror stories; you can find them all over forums and sites devoted to them.  am a fan of listening to my creepypastas; just because I’ve not clicked around to find ones to read.  Mr. CreepyPasta is a Youtuber who reads creepypastas and I find that he does an amazing job; he really reads them well and he does a good job at making them believable.
There are creepypastas about pretty much anything, and the style of creepypastas differs from one sub-genre to the next.  Lost Episode Creepypastas were more popular once upon a time, but they’re now considered cliché; they are just what they sound like.  Often the show the episode is from tends to be a children’s show, which just makes it that much more terrifying.

Many creepypastas are like campfire stories; telling of some past experience or some folklore like legend.  These are fun and, obviously, can be about pretty much anything!

And there are some that are instructions for rituals that will bring about something amazing or terrifying, if followed directly.

A few of the most famous creepypastas are Smile Dog, Suicidemouse.avi, Candle Cove, Squidward’s Suicide, Username: 666, The Russian Sleep Experiment, and Slenderman.

There are just so many of them that it’s hard to narrow them down!  😀

The one that might be my favorite so far is 1999.  The aforementioned Mr. CreepyPasta reads it here–it is quite morbid and long (and, as in many horror-related things, there is bad language) but I really enjoyed it.

 

I love creepypastas, in part, because they do feel so much like campfire stories.  Especially the narrated ones, but even just reading them…what they are, in essence, lends to them feeling that way–a modern way of telling such stories.
Campfire stories are a part of culture, or were–a part that I don’t want to lose.

I mean, what I wouldn’t give to have those old-timey storytellers again!  Standing by a large fire, skillfully telling their tale to evoke whatever emotions the story dictates, just by their voice, their expressions, and their gestures.
I’ve only had the experience of personally listening to a storyteller once, at a library thing–and I loved it!!  

I wish I had the opportunity to listen to such things more; but for now, I have my narrated creepypastas.
(And my tabletop RPG feels this way sometimes; and I love that, too!  XD )

 

What’s your favorite creepypasta?  Have you ever enjoyed listening to a storyteller?  Do you prefer to read creepypastas, or just listen to them?

 

~*~RaeAnne

