Cinder11235712

 

Author ~ Marissa Meyer

Pages ~ 390 (hardcover)

Memorable Quotes ~  “Imagine there was a cure, but finding it would cost you everything. It would completely ruin your life. What would you do?”

“Cinder twisted up her lips. “Do you think it could have a virus?”
“Maybe her programming was overwhelmed by Prince Kai’s uncanny hotness.”

Favorite Character ~  Obviously I love Cinder and Kai–you’re supposed to, you kinda have to–but my favorite might have to be Dr. Erland.

Summary ~  Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

I Rate It ~ 5/5 Stars      ~*~   My Bookshelf Would Be Empty Without It

 

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

WHY HAD I NOT READ THIS BOOK SOONER?!?!

Yes, it is a relatively new book, published in 2012, as well as being a YA book, and such things don’t tend to be on my radar so much.  Still, I’d been seeing pictures of this all over Instagram and sorta shrugged it off–until my friend Kayla suggested I read it them!

We all know the story, really, but it was put into a genre that I adore (SCI-FI!!!!!) and with some changes that I really appreciated.  The step-sisters aren’t entirely inhuman, for example, and you actually sort of care about at least one of them; and “mother” has more of a reason than she does in the Disney version to hate Cinderella.  There is a much more political aspect of this, and the consequences of the Prince not marrying Cinderella are much more terrible than they might have been in other versions.

I’m a sucker for a fairy-tale, or a re-telling of one, and this was a wonderful representation of such a book!
In fact, I wasn’t even finished with Cinder before I had ordered (BOUGHT!) all of the books in the series, as well as Marissa Meyer’s new book coming out next month (called Stars Above, full of prequels and such things, as well as a few other re-tellings in the setting, I believe)!  I spent $75 on books and I couldn’t have been happier with that decision–they should be coming today or tomorrow, and I plan on reading them all during a read-a-thon…but that’s more for another post!!  XD 

I gave it FIVE STARS, even though there were a few flaws; not like plot-holes or anything, and the characters were still all very good.  But it was her first book, something that I noticed a little bit here and there, mostly in the repeating of nervous ticks that seem to be rather universal for all of the characters and restating something that was said on the previous page.  And the ever-so-attractive prince has those typical attractive features–his hair was in his eyes, or nearly so, quite often, it seemed.  🙂

I can’t tell you when the last time I read a YA book was…maybe when I read The Outsiders for part of a book club?  But, of course, YA books can be good, and I’m so glad these books were what I wanted them to be–and more!

It’s funny to think that you can have a book from a cyborg’s POV and still have so much emotion.

If you haven’t read this book yet, and you love sci-fi or fairy-tales, you should do yourself a favor and pick it up!

~*~RaeAnne

