Under The Dome6320534

Author ~ Stephen King

Pages ~  1074 (hardcover)

Memorable Quotes :

“Two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.”

“Sorrow for a wrong was better than nothing, Barbie supposed, but no amount of after-the-fact sorrow could ever atone for joy taken in destruction, whether it was burning ants or shooting prisoners.”

“They walked back into the world together, wearing the gift that had been given them: just life. Pity was not love, Barbie reflected…but if you were a child, giving clothes to someone who was naked had to be a step in the right direction.”

Favorite Character(s):  It’s hard to say, when there are so many.  But, weirdly, I was most intrigued by Junior Rennie.  I’m a fan of Dale Barbara, “Barbie”, too.  Oh–and Ollie Dinsmore!
The characters are so interesting in this book!

Summary (taken from the Goodreads page; I’m unsure how official it is.) :
On an entirely normal, beautiful fall day in Chester’s Mill, Maine, the town is inexplicably and suddenly sealed off from the rest of the world by an invisible force field. Planes crash into it and fall from the sky in flaming wreckage, a gardener’s hand is severed as “the dome” comes down on it, people running errands in the neighboring town are divided from their families, and cars explode on impact. No one can fathom what this barrier is, where it came from, and when — or if — it will go away.

Dale Barbara, Iraq vet and now a short-order cook, finds himself teamed with a few intrepid citizens — town newspaper owner Julia Shumway, a physician’s assistant at the hospital, a select-woman, and three brave kids. Against them stands Big Jim Rennie, a politician who will stop at nothing — even murder — to hold the reins of power, and his son, who is keeping a horrible secret in a dark pantry. But their main adversary is the Dome itself. Because time isn’t just short. It’s running out.

I Rate It:  4/5 Stars   ~*~ Now What Do I Do With My Life?

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I really enjoyed this book!  It took me half a year to read it, but life sorta happens, and it’s over 1,000 pages long…so….  🙂

It wasn’t the easiest read, I’ll admit; there are a lot of characters to try to keep track of.  (Less and less as time goes on…but that’s a different matter!  🙂  )

Be that as it may, I appreciate how short the “chapters” were; I always like that.  First of all, it was the perfect choice for the book when you’re switching from characters’ POV so often; secondly, it makes it a lot easier to just pick it up and read a few…but, of course, it sucks you in!  Still, it’s something I appreciate when I run across it.

Also…there were “chapters” from the perspective of a handful of animals; they were amusing and, of course, well-written.  Animals seem to have a part to play in…well, all of King’s books that I’ve read so far.  🙂
Obviously, in a “world” that’s cut off from the majority of the outside world, things are going to go south rather quickly.  There are numerous murders, a handful of suicides, at least one instance of rape, and just needless (though provoked and encouraged) acts of vandalism.

None of them were out of place.  There were people who found themselves under the Dome who really just had a perfect opportunity to let their crazy show.  The power-hungry people couldn’t have had a more ideal situation–they took advantage of it, as well as the people that were suffering because of it.
And, of course, they were written about in a compelling, if graphic, way.  You get to the point where you can’t put the book down–some of it feels a bit like watching a car crash or something; you know that whatever happens is going to be terrible, but you just can’t look away.

You get to know a lot about a character when you put them through hell, something that Mr. King wastes no time in doing; how they react to it, how they respond to the mounting pressure, and who they decide to side with…these are all very telling.

I’m a fan of sci-fi, so I appreciated the elements of it in this book and how they tied in with the different characters.  It wasn’t the best display of science fiction that I’ve seen, but it served as a decent explanation for the Dome–and, really, it was the Dome that was the biggest problem, not whoever was behind it.
Perhaps my biggest complaint about this book is the dialogue of the teenagers.  I’m a fan of Stephen King, and his dialogue isn’t something I have issues with often, but…I got the feeling that he wasn’t as confident writing the dialogue from them as he would be otherwise–which is understandable, considering his age vs. theirs.  To compensate, I feel like he was using words that people my age do say (dude, man…etc.) but not as frequently as they do there.  A few of the phrases seemed…outdated.  (The kids were also skaters, but I don’t think that’s explanation enough for it.)
But it was a good–if long–read!  The characters are compelling, and it keeps you guessing; though obviously the attempts to break through the Dome within the first few hundred pages aren’t going to work (that’s like trying to make you fear for the main character’s life in the first movie in a trilogy) but seeing those supposed solutions is interesting.

The ending…I can’t quite say that I predicted it–you never quite know what’s going to happen in this book–but I had a feeling about what would happen for the final climax, and what some of those consequences would be.
Still, the source of the Dome, and what’s done to be rid of it is interesting!

It was the first book I can remember binge-reading like that in way too long!  I got to the last 400 pages or so and simply couldn’t put it down–I was up until two in the morning, and that was a splendid thing!  I’ve missed that.

Stephen King is a fan of the what-if scenarios and…let’s just say I don’t want this to happen.

 

~*~RaeAnne

 

