I WON NANOWRIMO AGAIN THIS YEAR!!!!!

tumblr_ngauz9hteg1spnl05o1_500
Gotta love The Carlton!

My total wordcount at the end of the month was 50,144!

I realize, however, that this doesn’t matter very much.

It’s not really the wordcount that matters; it’s your goal, of course, but…let’s face it, making the decision to even take up such a challenge is huge.

It’s not just a decision to write every day; writing every day is something that I already do, and have done for years.
But it’s a decision to carve out even more time from your day to devote to it.  I stayed up later than usual all of the last month–and that’s saying something.
There were days that I didn’t get to the “daily goal” of 1,667, but I could still feel proud of myself.  Even on that day I only managed 700 words, I decided not to stress out about it.  What good would that have done?  That was only one day, and  I made up for what I didn’t write then later.
NaNoWriMo is stressful enough as it is.

But…am I happy?

Yes…and no.
I am super happy to have accomplished this crazy goal again this year–I won NaNoWriMo!  
I am so glad that there is an entire community of people just as crazy as I am; just as passionate about the art that is writing, and super-duper encouraging!

But, of course, the majority of what I wrote was rubbish.  Of course it was!  That’s what happens when you write so much in only thirty days.  It’s not really going to be any good; there might be a few paragraphs here and there…but even in those terrible paragraphs, there are ideas behind them.  Ideas that might be fantastic, once all of the junk around them has been cleared away.
As I’ve said a few thousand times; quantity over quality.  Especially when you remember that it’s just a first draft–there’s a reason you don’t parade those around and show them to everybody.

It’s not about being happy with what you wrote.
NaNoWriMo is about being glad that you have written.
It’s about the challenge; it’s proving to yourself what you’re capable of.  (Because I feel like writers in general tend to doubt themselves; I know I’m my worst critic.)

I love NaNoWriMo.  I really, really do.

I need to go grab a blanket and a cup of tea…I might still be in some mild form of shock after all of the craziness that was my November.  XD
But I wouldn’t have it any other way.
How about you?
How many years have you attempted NaNoWriMo?
What was your experience with it this year?
No matter how many words you managed to scribble down, you should be proud of yourself!  🙂

I always treat myself to something writing related after NaNoWriMo; last year I bought myself a poster….  Any suggestions for this year?  I’ve been clicking around on Etsy, looking at NaNo Merch….

 

~*~RaeAnne

