There are many things I enjoyed about my experience with NaNoWriMo last year.  Here’s a list of just a few of those things!

  • Copy of NANOWRIMOThe community.
    I’m not sure I can express just how helpful and kind the community on the NaNoWriMo site is!  Always so encouraging and there when you need them!  🙂
  • I am especially thankful for the people who make book covers for you–just for fun, because they’re cool like that!  I’ve completely fallen in love with the one I was given last year; and the one I had made for me this year is wonderfully splendid!
  • It makes me sit down and write every day.
    I do some online role-playing, and usually some journaling, so this isn’t such a big one for me.  But I feel like it is, at the same time–roleplays and novels (*gulp*) are two very different things.
    Sure, there are days I only get a few hundred words written; but those are a few hundred words I didn’t have written before I sat down.
  • I actually finished something!
    …well, a substantial first-draft of something, anyway.
    That was the first time I’d ever written something that long.  And getting past that goal of 50,000 words felt soooo good!
  • Quantity over Quality:
    This is sorta the way NaNoWriMo works–not that you make an effort to write poorly.  And, for writing the first draft of something, that’s completely how it should be!  Just spit it all out…that’s what editing is for, after all.
  • The Writing Badges
    They offer other badges, too (some of which are new this year?), but I just like them!  They make you feel even more accomplished at those “little” points along the way.  Each little word adds up!
  • The merch is pretty neat….
    I treated myself to a poster last year when I’d finished!  I’m contemplating a mug or t-shirt this year!

I’m so excited for NaNoWriMo!  How ’bout you?  What do you love about NaNoWriMo?

~*~RaeAnne

