Ten days from today, it will be November 1st, the first day of NaNoWriMo.  I’m getting excited and nervous!  I plan on posting NANOWRIMOhere…perhaps daily, about my experiences with the crazy challenge I’m setting for myself this year.  I attempted (and won!) NaNoWriMo last year, and plan on doing so again this year!

But what is NaNoWriMo?

It’s short for National Novel Writing Month.
The month of November…your goal is to write (a minimum of) 50,000 words.

Yes, it is as crazy as it sounds.
My friend over at Caught Between the Pages encouraged me to do it last year.  It was something I’d heard of a long time ago, but always thought sounded insane and wondered why anyone would do it.
But I like a good challenge every now and then….  🙂  And I’m not the only one.  Hundreds of thousands of people participate in this each year!

And, really, if you’re consistent and make a point of sitting down to write every day, the goal is only 1,667 words a day, I do believe!  Obviously there will be days when you reach that goal, some days when you surpass it, and some days when you get nowhere near it–but that’s alright.
For me, the hardest part of a day of writing is actually starting.  If I sit down with a pot of tea and make myself write, it gets easier as time goes on.

Obviously, this is more about quantity than quality…but it’s also more about actually just writing than anything else.  Maybe you’ve been in a funk–this is one way to just get yourself writing again.

It’s a challenge.  And it’s something that feels amazing to have finished!

Are you going to attempt NaNoWriMo this year?  Have you done it before?  What do you have in mind?

I’ll be posting more tomorrow about my personal experience with NaNoWriMo!

~*~RaeAnne

