Favorite Words-Tintinnabulation

Tintinnabulation…just rolls off the tongue, no?

The word was first penned by Edgar Allan Poe in his poem The Bells (written around 1848) and means, in that case, “the lingering sound of a bell after it has been struck”.  It could also mean a ringing or tinkling sound.

“Hear the sledges with the bells– TheBells
Silver bells!
What a world of merriment their melody foretells!
How they tinkle, tinkle, tinkle,
In the icy air of night!
While the stars that oversprinkle
All the heavens, seem to twinkle
With a crystalline delight;
Keeping time, time, time,
In a sort of Runic rhyme,
To the tintinnabulation that so musically wells
From the bells, bells, bells, bells,
Bells, bells, bells–
From the jingling and the tinkling of the bells.”

~Edgar Allan Poe
The first stanza of The Bells

I wish this word was used more often, (though I admit its meaning rather limits possible use) as I’m really quite fond of it.  Don’t ask me why, it just sounds so wonderful; and I’m a bit partial to long words!  🙂  There’s a very whimsical feel to it, which is beyond strange for Poe.

It’s definitely a unique word, and it makes me happy!  🙂

~*~RaeAnne

