As You Wish

 

Author ~  Cary Elwes and Joe Layden–with foreword by Rob Reiener21412202

Pages ~  259 (hardcover)

Favorite Part ~  I really enjoyed reading about the amount of work that went into the fencing scene between Inigo and Westley.  Reading about André the Giant was good, too.  Oh!  And the parts about Billy Crystal….

Summary ~ From actor Cary Elwes, who played the iconic role of Westley in The Princess Bride, comes a first-person account and behind-the-scenes look at the making of the cult classic film filled with never-before-told stories, exclusive photographs, and interviews with costars Robin Wright, Wallace Shawn, Billy Crystal, Christopher Guest, and Mandy Patinkin, as well as author and screenwriter William Goldman, producer Norman Lear, and director Rob Reiner.

The Princess Bride has been a family favorite for close to three decades. Ranked by the American Film Institute as one of the top 100 Greatest Love Stories and by the Writers Guild of America as one of the top 100 screenplays of all time, The Princess Bride will continue to resonate with audiences for years to come.

Cary Elwes was inspired to share his memories and give fans an unprecedented look into the creation of the film while participating in the twenty-fifth anniversary cast reunion. In As You Wish he has created an enchanting experience; in addition to never-before seen photos and interviews with his fellow cast mates, there are plenty of set secrets, backstage stories, and answers to lingering questions about off-screen romances that have plagued fans for years!

With a foreword by Rob Reiner and a limited edition original poster by acclaimed artist Shepard Fairey, As You Wish is a must-have for all fans of this beloved film.
(Thanks, Goodreads!)

I Rate It:  5/5 Stars     ~*~    My Bookshelf Would be Empty Without It

 

~*~*~*~

One of my goals for this year is to read 10 non-fiction books.  That wasn’t the case when I read this book sometime…over the summer, though.  Until this year, I haven’t make a point of picking up a non-fiction book; if it’s not on a subject that interests me, I won’t really enjoy reading it.  Even if it is a subject I enjoy, it takes a special, well-written book to keep my attention.
As You Wish, by Cary Elwes, was definitely that book.

If you’re at all a fan of The Princess Bride (specifically the movie, but if you’ve read the book I also assume you’ve watched the film) you will love this book!
I’m that geek that enjoys watching behind-the-scenes videos, and this book takes those a few steps further.
The hardback cover I have is 240-ish pages long, not including the index or epilogue, so it’s a fairly quick read, too.

It’s wittily written–I literally laughed out loud multiple times.  The book is mainly Cary’s thoughts and recalling the making of the movie, but there are many blurbs that are written by the other cast members/people involved.
Just like the movie, the book is incredibly sweet–you can tell that everyone really enjoyed making that movie.  The work that was put into it is incredible–I really enjoyed reading about the experiences that Cary Elwes and Mandy Patinkin had while working on that iconic duel.

I don’t want to sit here and go on and on about how adorable it was…but it really was.
Like I said, if you’re a fan of The Princess Bride–and who isn’t, that movie/book has something for everyone in it?!–this book is a must read!  If you’re like me, it’ll make you fall in love with the movie all over again.  🙂

I can also say with some confidence that it is part of what inspired me to try to read the book The Princess Bride again.  We tried to read it a few years ago and weren’t impressed with it, but I think I might appreciate the humor of it a bit more now and want to give it another shot!  Who knows?  Maybe it’ll be one of my favorites!  (You can expect a review of that one sometime this year!  It’s in my virtual TBR in 2016 pile!)

~*~RaeAnne

